Family traditions, my traditions?

What happens to family traditions when your family goes away?

Well, “family goes away” might be stating things a bit too strongly. But this is our first winter with our daughter away in college, and holidays feel different when there is no child in the house.

Even if for the past couple of years that “child” was a big, independent, less-than-optimally-communicative teenager.

Take Chanukah, which arrives this weekend with its usual single-candle blaze of glory. Normally we would make a Big Deal of the first night of Chanukah — festive dinner with relatives or friends, lots of presents, latkes, chocolate gelt, dreidels. Most years we would end up making latkes on two or three different evenings for different configurations of friends and guests. And we always made sure to buy at least eight gifts, and we had big gift-opening hoopla every night.

This year? I do not want to cook a single latke. I will be completely fine if I don’t eat a single latke. Okay, I’ll eat some when we get together with our chavurah in late December, but other than that…. meh.

Free at last, free at last, thank God almighty, I'm free at last / Photo by Ilana DeBare

Free at last, free at last, thank God almighty, I’m free at last / Photo by Ilana DeBare

I don’t want to open gifts every night either. I’d like to open gifts on the last night, when Daughter will be home for her winter vacation. But other than that, I don’t really care.

What I do want is to light the candles and say the blessings. Just a nice straightforward little candle-lighting at dinnertime with Sam. (Followed by watching some Jon Stewart re-runs?)

In one sense, this is completely reasonable. Chanukah is a minor holiday in Jewish tradition, which mushroomed out of its historic proportions in the past 50 years as American Jews tried to come up with a counterbalance to the glitter of Christmas. Lighting candles with a minimum of fuss is probably closer to the traditional Chanukah than what we’ve been doing in our household for the past 18 years.

But there are other times when the issue is murkier. Take Shabbat. When Daughter was home, we lit candles and said blessings on most Friday nights where we were all home together. This fall, when Sam and I have been home on a Friday, it’s felt slightly weird lighting candles with just the two of us.

Part of me felt, “Why are we going through the motions? It’s just the two of us.”

Which raised the question… were we just lighting candles to educate our child? or were we doing it for us also?

That question is more nuanced for me than it might be for some people because I was not raised with much Judaism at all. My family had a Passover seder and lit a menorah, but we never celebrated Shabbat or belonged to a synagogue. So the Jewish traditions I carry out are ones that I’ve consciously chosen as an adult, rather than ones I inhaled with my childhood air.

But back to that Shabbat moment of to-light-or-not-to-light….

I lit.

I skipped the white table cloth. But I lit the candles, even without Daughter.

And there are really two reasons for that. One is that as adults, we need to take care of ourselves — regardless of whether we have kids around or not. I don’t want to be someone who lives on TV Dinners because there are no children to cook for. I don’t want to be that old lady who lets the house go uncleaned and unrepaired because she’s the only one living there. We need to nourish ourselves as well as our children.

Shabbat is a kind of nourishment, like a home-cooked meal, an occasional massage,  a bouquet of flowers from the farmer’s market. And that brings me to the second reason — I do want to keep Shabbat as a part of my life. I care about it and believe in it. So I lit.

But clearly that’s not true for every Jewish tradition. Some are falling by the wayside.

Building a Sukkah? We did it for about ten years when Daughter was little. Now? Forget it!

Latkes? Can live without the oil, the mess and the calories.

Shabbat? Big Passover Seder? Chanukah candle-lighting? Those are keepers.

What about you? Any changes in your family rituals or traditions if you’ve had children leave home? And what does that say about your values and priorities? 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Family traditions, my traditions?”

  1. crystals9 Says:

    Our daughter is a freshman as well, but won’t be home till well after Chanukah ends. I sent her chocolate gelt, other foodstuffs for finals, the earrings she left at home at Thanksgiving and asked me to send her, two other pairs of earrings as a gift, the camera she knew she was getting – see below. I had just sent her a dress she asked me to send to her for the Hillel Chanukah formal (didn’t fit, she wore one she had taken with her) along with my LED chanukiyah. She sent me a photo of the little chanukiyah on the first night, on her windowsill.

    She has trouble with cameras and getting good pictures, which she attributes to shaky hands and I attribute to the lack of an optical viewfinder. When I ordered the camera I thought would work well for her trip, she asked me to have it sent to her dorm, but it was backordered, and I worried it would pass her in the mail on her way home, so I had it sent home, but it came early, so I sent it with her Chanukah stuff.

    The trip? Birthright over the semester break! We’re all excited for her, but she’ll only be home for 4 days before she’s off. At least she’ll be home for a bit over a week before we take her back to school.

    Hubby loves latkes, so no matter what, we make them. The first night we invited a couple we know that we’ve had over for latkes for several years – they often invite us for the seder or Rosh Hashanah. And last night hubby asked if we’d have more latkes before the holiday ends…

    • Ilana DeBare Says:

      Sounds like a busy season for all of you! (but especially for her)

      I bought and shipped Daughter an electric LED menorah so she wouldn’t burn the dorm down. :-) Plus a hand grater and cutting board — a do-it-yourself Chanukah package. She and her roommates apparently made 60 latkes on Sunday night. :-)

Leave a Reply

