What a marriage proposal!

At its best, a wedding is a community event as well as a private event. Friends and family are witnessing the union and promising to be there to help support the couple as they go through the ups and downs of life together. The couple is also acknowledging and embracing the important people in their lives.

When Sam and I got married, we built our ceremony with the help of the wonderful book, The New Jewish Wedding by Anita Diamant. In addition to family members holding the chuppah, we asked family and close friends to write and deliver personal versions of the traditional seven blessings. We wanted to actively involve people in a ceremony that spoke to us and who we were.

But this video (circulating on Facebook and YouTube, of course — thanks to Danny Shapiro for sharing) takes community participation in a marriage to a whole new level!

Watch it. It made me cry.

P.S. I’m not sure how long this video will be available — another version of it was ┬átaken down from YouTube a few hours after I posted it because someone was complaining of copyright violations. Boo! Hiss!

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “What a marriage proposal!”

  1. Susie M Says:

    I know…isn’t it AMAZING? Loved it! I would love to go to their wedding, but really how could it be any better than the proposal?

  2. Barbara Kluger Says:

    OMG. I am NOT a crier, but the tears just streamed from the eyes on this one. So amazing. So romantic!

  3. bratschegirl Says:

    I haven’t seen the video, but as a musician I am pretty exasperated by the ever-increasing number of people who can’t or won’t see that violating copyright is, in fact, stealing. I’m a little surprised that a writer, someone whose work is also easily subject to being appropriated and disseminated without compensation or credit, doesn’t feel similarly.

  4. Ilana DeBare Says:

    In general, I agree that copyright is important and in seeking images for this blog and the other one I run, I always try to obtain permission or else rely on Creative Commons.

    But this was a personal video a guy made of him and his friends/family dancing to a song while he proposed to his girlfriend. He posted it… people loved it… it’s not a commercial venture. It’s part of a glimpse into a particularly sweet moment in someone’s life. Maybe the music company was legally in the right to get the video taken down, but I think it was a stupid decision.

    Seeing the video made me want to go download that song. I’d never heard it before, I liked it, plus it now had this really positive emotional overlay from the video.

    Free marketing, not egregious copyright violation, if you ask me. If I were the record company, I would have sent a magnum of champagne to the guy and his fiance and offered to sing at their wedding.

  5. bratschegirl Says:

    I don’t want to hijack the thread, and clearly we are going to have to agree to disagree on this, but I do think it’s important to point out that, while it was a personal video, it wasn’t his song! He can YouTube a song /he/ writes to his little heart’s content, but he doesn’t have the right to make that decision about someone else’s piece of creative work, whether or not cockles of various hearts are warmed in the process. It really is that simple.

    The money isn’t the point, although often people who do this kind of stealing justify it by saying that it isn’t really stealing if it only hurts a giant faceless corporation that won’t notice the absence of a few fractions of pennies here and there. Of course, the trouble with that is that the vast majority of the musicians whose income comes partly from royalties generated by their copyrighted creative efforts aren’t bazillionaires like Lady Gaga or Madonna (although, even if they were, it wouldn’t lessen their right to have control over their artistic product).

    For me the issue comes down to respect, or a lack thereof, for an artist’s right to control how and where and when his/her piece of reproducible creative work is shared with the public, and I think that artists have a responsibility to each other not to be the ones engaging in blurring those lines.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

